life, lime and lemons

if life gives you lemons, make lemonade, find someone whose life gives you vodka, and have a party

I spy September 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — limenlemons @ 1:01 pm
Tags:

Her eyes didn’t leave her book. She stood in a corner, her hair messy and her bag sliding down her shoulders every now and then. Her face was one of those faces that make you turn around to look at. Man, woman or child, they all turned to look.

I looked too. I must admit.

Her eyes didn’t leave the book though. In fact, I think the expression on her face got more intense with the turn of each page.

The corner was just big enough for the two of us. I dragged my legs closer to the rest of my body. Turning up the volume on the ipod, I lost myself in his coarse voice.

A shadow fell over me then.

He had the broadest shoulders I have seen in a long time. It was probably the shadow that broke her concentration too. Instead of a frown at the shadow for the interruption, as I expected, her face broke into a bright smile. She leapt into his arms. He hugged her close. I saw him lean into smell her hair. They couldn’t stop touching each other. The face, the arm, the hair. I wondered if I should move to give them privacy. She put her head on his shoulders and his arm went around her waist.

A sigh escaped through me.

They did look so good together. As I lost myself again in the world of wishes and dreams, a shadow fell over me again. I felt a tap on my shoulder. I frowned at the interruption and looked up. He handed me a cup of coffee. Surprised, I said, “You read my mind! I was just thinking about it” He didn’t reply and slid down on the ground next to me. I sipped the near-perfect concoction. He dug out two tickets from his bag,“I think this is also something you have been thinking about.” I stared at it in surprise. He hated watching these plays and yet he held those tickets. Winking at me, he put them back in his bag.

We sat there side-by-side. We sat there without touching each other. We sat there on that crowded noisy platform.

And yet, a sigh escaped me.

 

10 Responses to “I spy”

  1. Red Soul Says:

    wow. beautiful. a lot of such scenes run through my times occasionally, but its so hard to put them in words. You did it nicely. i loved the “sigh” wala motive. so many stories, and they can just fly up above everything and never make themselves known if we dont put such scenes into words.

    p.s. where u been? I dont c u at my place often now 😛

  2. Coffee Messiah Says:

    A good coffee is good anytime, and anywhere.

    BTW, Happy “un” Birthday if I missed it and many happy returns of that special day 2 U! ; )

  3. K Says:

    I love sighs they say so much with so little effort.. awesome ishtory.. lekin I’m betting you drooled a bit at the other guy.. you forgot to mention that.. hehehe..:D

  4. N Says:

    red soul, thanks. sometimes, the words just come along with the scenes u see around. this story, though, was stuck half way for a week. dont know why. i saw some stuff when i travelled recently but only a few words came. the rest took a while 🙂 and im here! been reading urs, not commenting though. bad girl me. soon i promise.

    coffee messiah, thanks a lot! 🙂 agree about the coffee. totally agree.

    K, hey its a story. its not really me in the story. i dont go around drooling at strangers!
    😛 😛

  5. weedy Says:

    i bet she was reading ‘the way of a man with a maid’.

  6. neha Says:

    Hey! landed up here through mandy’s blog. never knew u wrote! enjoyed reading through yr blog…cheers n happy blogging. will drop by here more often

  7. N Says:

    Weedy, how do i put this – “uske chehre se nazar nahin hutti, book hum kya dekhte….”

    Neha, hi! and thanks for stopping by.

  8. Red Soul Says:

    N, I didn’t get ur comment. u need to post it again 🙂 😛

  9. Nishchal Shukla નિશ્ચલ શુક્લ Says:

    I think I am late to comment on this one but, Very well written!

  10. churningthewordmill.wordpress.com Says:

    this story i loved!!
    good job neets!!
    mandira


Leave a Reply

