life, lime and lemons

if life gives you lemons, make lemonade, find someone whose life gives you vodka, and have a party

I am a Faffer December 20, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — limenlemons @ 9:58 am
Tags:

So this word ‘faffer’ got thrown at me while I was leaving work yesterday. And since I do like the girl who said it and since she was kidding and since she is quite mad herself, instead of feeling bad I started thinking about it (dont bother if the reasons dont make sense) The entire drive back home was like a flashback to my school and college days. ‘Coz frankly, I think I am a faffer and that is how I probably got through all my studying years.

I am not very intelligent. Not that I am dumb, please note! (and anyway who would admit they were that) I am reasonably smart but not intelligent. There is a difference, you see, between being intelligent and smart. So I believe, dont you? I work with some really intelligent people – you know the kind that have answers to all kinds of questions!!! (annoying they are sometimes) I tend to suprise myself (and God knows others too) when I realise I know the answer to something complex. So I started thinking about school……

Not surprising I dont have many memories of that. Sure I remember all the fun I had but sadly ‘learning’ wasnt really fun and hence no memories of that. I studied in school but did I learn? I recall taking down pages and pages of notes in class. In fact, even college was almost like that. By then I had lost interest in my education. So its surprising I actually hold a Masters Degree. How did that happen!?!?

And I am not kidding but there was this one course that I slept through. Literally. I would walk into class and within 10 minutes my head would be bobbing up-down and left-right. Thankfully, that was one of the general courses so I had some 140-odd heads to hide behind. It didnt matter whether I had 4 cups of coffee before class or I had slept for close to 10 hours the previous night (ok so this was never possible) or it was the 1st class of the day or the last; 10 minutes and me would be dozing off. I have been through the whole falling-off-chair or head-hitting-the-desk or your-belongings-crash-on-floor thing in this class – thinking I would make it up later studying on my own. Fat chance that happened!! With a professor so uninspiring, the notes were worse. Bowing down to peer pressure, I finally signed the compendium of the said course out of the library.(Okay beat this fact – for a bunch of 140-odd students, they only had 2 copies of the compendium in the library. I mean really! its like they were begging me to not bother with it) I doubt I read more than 2 pages before I took the exam. So yeah, I will say it again. How did I get my degree!!?!?

Because sleeping in class wasnt my only problem. It was also this cute professor who took this other course that I have to admit I was at my ‘awake-est’ self at! A few years older with a strange sense of humour (and slight dimples…*sigh*), he was adorable. I may sound absolutely girlie but each time he said my name out aloud, the way he would say it inside-inside I purred. If that wasnt enough, he got forced into singing for his students once. So he picked up the guitar and sang ‘drops of jupiter’ and lets just say I never had any respectable thoughts about him after then. (I spent the last 5 minutes wondering what course he taught, cant come up with anything!!!) How, I ask myself, did I pull off getting myself a degree!

(this has become a post about my past πŸ˜‰ rather than focussing on how my years of education were! See even when I sit to write about studying, I end up writing about sleeping and men. God help me!!)

 

8 Responses to “I am a Faffer”

  1. Coffee Messiah Says:

    Er, what’s a “faffer”?

    Enjoyed this, although I myself slept in some classes looking like I was awake ; (

    Cheers!

  2. Red Soul Says:

    “A few years older with a strange sense of humour (and slight dimples…*sigh*), he was adorable.”….. hehe…. πŸ™‚

    Cute post really. :):)

  3. N Says:

    Coffee Messiah, πŸ˜€
    oh and faffer means an indecisive individual, prone to procrastination, dithering between tasks,and who is easily distracted and achieves very little. Also, used to describe someone who may not know the answers but can fake them well.

    Red Soul, thanks… πŸ™‚
    im still waiting for the details u need to send me for fb. i cant send u anythig since u shut down ur comments!

  4. Just call me 'A' Says:

    :)…i smiled throughout the post. i’ve slept through a few classes myself in college….and it made no difference to my ‘learning’…thankfully so πŸ™‚

  5. Anil P Says:

    Aha, a kindred soul. How well I can relate to the ‘sleep’ aspect of the classroom πŸ™‚

  6. N Says:

    A and Anil P, its amazing how all of us admit we slept in class. now im wondering if anyone was awake?!?
    and maybe the teachers need to take a hint.

  7. inthecookiebox Says:

    Well this post just proves you are a good faffer! and as we are good at it we should just rejoice with a glass of wine!

  8. K Says:

    You still sighing over danny boy I see…. *sigh*
    And btw since I am one of the “intellectuals” πŸ˜€ I shall say this you one hell of an intelligent woman!!!
    I dont think you would’ve gotten that degree now otherwise, would you?


Leave a Reply

