life, lime and lemons

if life gives you lemons, make lemonade, find someone whose life gives you vodka, and have a party

What I want to know….. April 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — limenlemons @ 7:37 am
Tags:

It doesn’t interest me what you do for a living. I want to know what you ache for, and if you dare to dream of meeting your heart’s longing.

It doesn’t interest me how old you are. I want to know if you will risk looking like a fool for love, for your dream, for the adventure of being alive.

It doesn’t interest me what planets are squaring your moon. I want to know if you have touched the centre of your own sorrow, if you have been opened by life’s betrayals or have become shrivelled and closed from fear of further pain. I want to know if you can sit with pain, mine or your own, without moving to hide it or fade it or fix it.I want to know if you can be with joy, mine or your own, if you can dance with wildness and let the ecstasy fill you to the tips of your fingers and toes without cautioning us to be careful, to be realistic, or to remember the limitations of being human.

It doesn’t interest me if the story you’re telling me is true. I want to know if you can disappoint another to be true to yourself; if you can bear the accusation of betrayal and not betray your own soul; if you can be faithless and therefore trustworthy.I want to know if you can see beauty, even when it’s not pretty, every day, and if you can source your own life from its presence.I want to know if you can live with failure, yours and mine, and still stand on the edge of a lake and shout to the silver of the full moon, “Yes!”

It doesn’t interest me to know where you live or how much money you have. I want to know if you can get up after the night of grief and despair, weary and bruised to the bone, and do what needs to be done to feed the children.It doesn’t interest me who you know, or how you came to be here. I want to know if you will stand in the centre of the fire with me and not shrink back.It doesn’t interest me where and what or with whom you have studied. I want to know what sustains you, from the inside, when all else falls away.I want to know if you can be alone with yourself, and if you truly like the company you keep in the empty moments.

From the book —The Invitation by Oriah Mountain Dreamer, Harper San Francisco 1999

This has been reproduced from a friend’s blog. Since its a private blog, I am not acknowledging/linking it. If I was as articulate, these are the words I would have used for the thoughts running through my mind.
 

14 Responses to “What I want to know…..”

  1. Cuckoo Says:

    Very beautiful and thoughtful words. Liked it. Keep sharing such things. πŸ™‚

  2. Cuckoo Says:

    Very beautiful & thought provoking words. Keep sharing such things. πŸ™‚

  3. Coffee Messiah Says:

    Plans are made to be broken.

    In my youth an older man told me if I was going to wait to have a child until I had enough money, I should forget it, ’cause you never have enough money.

    And he was right.

    Nothing matters other than having the will to make any situation the best you can (not counting negative stuff, that you need to get away from).

    When I stopped looking, things happen. When there’s a lead and I follow and see it through, nothing but good comes from it.

    Although you can’t escape life/death, the same with good/bad etc.

    Er, time to give it a rest…..

    Good luck on your journey ; )

    Cheers!

  4. Anonymous Says:

    nice

  5. Anjuli Says:

    this makes me want to get ahold of the book! Good thoughts. They are so true. They cut to the heart of the matter.

    I also agreed with Coffee Messiah’s comments. So true.

  6. N Says:

    Cuckoo and Anjuli, these simple words are so strong I had to put them here. sometimes, the simplest of the words seem just so right. does that happen to u?

    Coffee Messiah, thanks for sharing your thoughts πŸ™‚ had me fervently nodding through it all coz it makes so much sense.

  7. weedy Says:

    hm. whoever wrote this book sure Wants To Know a lot. i don’t think she’ll want to be my friend at all. also, she’s called ‘mountain dreamer’. i dunno, man…just pointin it out…

  8. gomu Says:

    wow, when I posted this, I missed my public blog because you get to read the comments and you feel happy that you shared it with people.. now that u did it and readers liked it πŸ™‚ nice it is.

  9. I scribble here Says:

    this is so well written, very beautiful

  10. N Says:

    gomu, like i commented on ur post, the words were just so powerful. made so much sense that i felt like sharing them with everyone else πŸ™‚ im glad u decided to put them on ur blog and i got to read them.

    Scribbler, I agree πŸ™‚

  11. gomu Says:

    ok jee πŸ˜€

  12. msprimadonna67 Says:

    These are the powerful and striking words I wish I had the language to articulate. Thank you for passing them on to us.

  13. Poonam J Says:

    What I want to know…yes very beautiful and thoughtful words…but what you want to know has no simple straight answers. You are on the threshold of a new journey..so the thoughts and doubts I guess…we all go through these moments and I have learnt for myself, there is no best time and right time in life.
    In relationships, nothing is more comforting as long as you have the one you love besides you. At that point even when nothing is right, you still feel your world is complete…..lovely read,I am glad you published it.

  14. K Says:

    OMG .. that is so beautiful. So, so beautiful. I think I am at a loss for words. But there are so many thoughts in there that I have thought. *wow*


Leave a Reply

