life, lime and lemons

if life gives you lemons, make lemonade, find someone whose life gives you vodka, and have a party

One up! May 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — limenlemons @ 11:56 am
Tags:

Its been a month since I started work. New city, new job, new field of work, new people……. “new” is still the flavour of my life!

Its an interesting line of work, challenging sometimes since I havent worked in this field before. Maybe I have had contact with this field in the non-profit and social sectors where I worked previously but this is my first venture into it in a for-profit business setting.

A certain boss at a certain job once told me that its not important if the organisation is “for-profit” or “non-profit”. Its the intention with which the organisation works that should be more important – whether the intentions are solely for profit or they have a social angle to their work. I joined his organisation immediately then. The 2 women heading the organisation here too conveyed that to me as they described their vision and work. I have now been with them a month!

The challenge initially was the lack of discipline to sit in one place! The 6 months long break made it difficult to concentrate on a task. I would be so tempted ( and gave in to it several times too) to visit blogs, facebook or chat. Two hours into work I would start clock-watching, wondering when I could get out. It wasnt that the work wasnt interesting ……. I had just forgotten how to do this anymore! 🙂 Things are better now. I can feel my interest in work growing and I am most certainly able to sit at my desk for longer periods of time!

All that is left now is to stop thinking about and missing home so much. *sigh*

Anyway. Leaving you with a glimpse of my work place.

You know you are settling really well at work when the pile keeps growing higher....

 

8 Responses to “One up!”

  1. anjuli Says:

    your pile looks like a small hill compared to my pile 🙂 ha ha!! I loved your thoughts on the reason to join a company- such great thoughts.

  2. Anil Says:

    It’s like a bicycle, a little effort needed to get the wheels rolling.

  3. K Says:

    I think you’ll know you’re completely settled in once the FB, blog visits are a part of multi-tasking while writing a crazy proposal with an even crazier deadline

  4. red soul Says:

    aww u were working home that much! >:*<

  5. red soul Says:

    missing home* god. 😛


Leave a Reply

